Updates Jan. 2014

Bismillah.

All the joy of receiving my Associate’s Degree has been washed away by the pain that has been brought about by university.

My dad is having an awful hard time paying for uni because it’s so expensive; he now has to look for another job *sigh*. I was listening to a short reminder by Br. Abu Mussab today about the reality of the dunya and how many young people are working more for their degrees than for the Akhirah.

While going to college, while I have delayed a lot of my Islamic Studies/Tafseer coursework, Alhamdulillah, I haven’t abandoned it. Delaying is bad but at least going slowly has kept me going. I’m really worried as to whether or not I’m going to be able to finish college in time.

In time for what?

Well, life of course. I want to get over secular studies so I can begin studying Islamic Studies full-time, instead of working on it once a week, along with teaching English inshaAllah.

My dad has worked so hard for me that I can’t even begin to appreciate it.

Financial aid gave me a minuscule amount of money for tuition but Alhamdulillah. I’m now hoping for a miracle.

What else?

I’ve been sick and yesterday my eye was watering like crazy (at work) and it was swollen. My students told me to take a nap; there was no way I was gonna do that, although I could have because the place I work at is tiny and my friend, who’s also a teacher there could have substituted my class. We talked about Martin Luther King, Jr. and I was supposed to discuss Malcom X after lunch time but whatever, I was too sick so I sat in the little kids’ reading corner and drank tea.

For dinner, I had chicken soup and “methi bataka” (potato and fenugreek curry) with roti although I’m not a big fan of roti. Then I tried having popcorn but my stepmom said no because she said it’d ruin my throat. So I went to bed (earrly) around 8 pm and kept waking up in the middle of the night. After Fajr, I didn’t wanna go back to sleep but my left eye was killing me, so I lay in bed until 8 am. Then I was like, “that’s it, no more lazying around” so I put my clothes in the washer. Now it’s 9:38 am and I don’t feel like going downstairs to throw them in the dryer. I want to stay awake and do my lesson but my left eye is forcing me to go back to sleep.

Yesterday I also watched this video about Qur’an memorization-it’s called Traveler with the Qur’an: [ http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qB7z3rB6ZS4#t=72]

Ms. Nabilah’s friend showed it to me about 3 weeks ago and one story in it is about the blind boy who memorized Qur’an and he said that he doesn’t ask Allah to restore his eyesight so that he can have a case on the  Day of Judgment; that was intense. I felt guilty asking Allah to cure my swollen eye after that but I still did…

yeah so now I’m hungry so I think I’m gonna have eggs for breakfast.

Btw, next week is the first Al-Maghrib class of the year: 24/7: Fiqh of Du’a & Dhikr with Sh. Waleed Basyouni. Can’t wait!!

Here’s the trailer: [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JmAYZegna_A]

That was a rant, a very boring one at that, I’m tired but I don’t want to sleep.

 

Leave a Reply

