Thoughts after a Handful of Monotonous Days

I sometimes think about the people who live life on autopilot. Their lack of enthusiasm in life puts me down, until it forces me to think about the great blessing from Allah called passion. If you aren’t passionate about the goals you want to achieve in life, how will you ever motivate yourself? What’s worse than not being passionate about your goals is not having any at all. I remember a time when I lived a monotone life; if people asked me what I liked, what I wanted to do, what I wanted to eat, what I wanted to (insert anything), my answer was always “I don’t know.” I was afraid of people’s opinion of me and I was afraid of being “wrong.” I was afraid of trying lest I fail. Now when I see people who go through their days as if they just have time to kill, I can’t help but think of all the amazing things that could have been getting accomplished in those wasted hours.

People sometimes think that in order to go after what you want in life, you have to sacrifice the rights of the people around you or that while fulfilling others’ rights, you will have to sacrifice your dreams, but that’s not true. Allah has a plan for all of us. It is our duty to find the ‘win’ in every loss and the hope in every problem. Optimism is devalued if it’s only shown in good times-it is your attitude in the hard times that counts.

Du’a is your greatest weapon.

Where there’s a will, there’s a way and that’s what I live by. By the Grace of Allah, when I am too tired to motivate myself, He always sends some reminder or some miracle takes place that allows me to re-adjust my focus and go after my dreams.

Make Allah’s Pleasure your motivation and ask Him to be your Guide-you will never get lost.

Leave a Reply

